Dearly beloved,

We are gathered here today to mourn the losses of Pennies for School and the Chalkboard Shop.

P4S: You taught me what blessings feel like. You taught me what miracles feel like.

CBS: You taught me to embrace erasing. You taught me to embrace reinvention.

I gave birth to you,

You were born through me.

Like any parent, I had the highest hopes for you. I wanted you to grow, expand and delight in the world. I wanted you to touch others. I wanted you to be curious and learn about all that around you. My dream for you was to fall in love–with life, your world, your dreams…

And, like any parent,  I faced my share of disappointments. I hoped you would aim for the stars and land on the moon, but you landed atop a mountain instead. I watched you up there, cursing you to go on.

But you didn’t.

So I didn’t.

My love for you pushed me to places I never imagined going. Like any good parent, I dashed out my comfort zone when you need help.

To advocate for you.

To cheer for you.

To be your champion.

And, like any parent, I’ve gotten past my disappointments. It’s taken some time…and some photos of you still cause my heart to ache. Seeing those similar to you eclipsing the moon makes me want to protect you. Nurture you. Hold you.

But, like any good parent, I shove those thoughts deep down inside. Smiling tightly. And I remember all that you are. In truth, you amaze me. When I reflect on everything you mean to me, my heart is filled with gratitude.

See, you brought me with you to the top of that mountain. You showed me views I never imagined. You showed me love I never imagined. You showed me God. And there’s no better gift than that!

All my love sweet ones,

Brittanae Ana Veal

Leave a Reply

